Overview
Scam Score v0.1 (published 04 Nov 2026) rates the risk that a casino will not pay you, using its terms, licence registers and domain history.
- Score is not for sale
What the score measures, and what it does not
Scam Score measures one thing: the risk of not getting your money.
- Not in the score: design, number of games, size of a bonus, game providers, an operator's refusal to answer Scamzino, star ratings from players.
- A commission never affects a score or the order of casinos.
How a score is calculated
Steps
| Step | What happens |
|---|---|
| 1 | Hard gates G1, G2, G3, G4, G5: any gate that fires gives Do Not Deposit |
| 2 | Sufficiency: a brand younger than 12 months, a casino whose terms we have not yet saved and read, or a casino licensed only for local regulated markets (for example Ontario or Alberta) is Not Enough Evidence |
| 3 | Score = 100 minus deductions; block maxima P 40, C 27 (crypto 30), L 15, T 15, R 3 |
| 4 | Band by score (Clean Record 85-100; Minor Issues 70-84; Caution 50-69; High Risk 0-49) with the v0 ceiling |
| 5 | Active Payout Alert overlay: a verified unpaid-winnings complaint above $1,000 in 30 days, or a complaint spike of 3 times the 90-day average; the score does not change, the Visit button is removed |
| 6 | Reason codes: up to 3, by the largest deduction |
Score v0.1 in year one
Until we hold enough documented payout cases, scores use terms, licence registers and domain history only (Score v0).
- Payout reliability (40 points): the lines based on complaints and on our own withdrawal test are not scored yet; until data exists they take no points off, and each dossier says how many points are not checked yet
- Clean Record needs a brand age of at least 24 months and at least 10 documented payout cases; otherwise the band is Minor Issues
- Not Enough Evidence: a brand younger than 12 months, terms not yet saved and read, or a licence for local regulated markets only
Hard gates
Hard gates
| Code | Reason code | Name | Condition | Evidence needed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| G1 | FAKE_GAMES | Fake games | A game loads from a server that does not belong to the named game provider | at least 1 observation |
| G2 | FALSE_LICENCE | Licence not found | The stated licence number is not in the register on the date, or the domain is not in the licence domain list, or the domain is on a regulator unauthorised list, or the two sources conflict | at least 2 observations, 2 independent sources, approval by the editor |
| G3 | CLONE | Clone | Imitation of a known brand, or a copy of its terms | at least 1 observation |
| G4 | PAY_TO_UNLOCK | Pay-to-unlock demands | A demand to pay to unlock winnings | at least 2 verified complaints |
| G5 | SYSTEMATIC_NONPAYMENT | Systematic non-payment | Proven non-payments with no operator answer | at least 3 verified complaints |
- Before the backtest, Do Not Deposit is published only for G2
Deductions
Maximum points by block
| Block | Max | Max (crypto) |
|---|---|---|
| P | 40 | - |
| C | 27 | 30 |
| L | 15 | - |
| T | 15 | - |
| R | 3 | - |
Deductions
| Code | Block | Item | Max | Max (crypto) | Reason code |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| P1 | P | Proven non-payments and delays in the last 90 days, weighted by size | 18 | - | UNPAID_90D |
| P2 | P | The same over 24 months without the last 90 days | 8 | - | UNPAID_24M |
| P3 | P | Withdrawal limit below $10,000 per month, payout in parts | 6 | - | WITHDRAWAL_CAP |
| P4 | P | Win limit or jackpot cap | 4 | - | WIN_LIMIT |
| P5 | P | Withdrawal test failed, or the time is more than 2 times the declared one | 4 | - | - |
| C1 | C | Grounds to confiscate winnings without a definition or open-ended (irregular play, bonus abuse, “including but not limited to”) | 6 | - | VAGUE_CONFISCATION |
| C2 | C | KYC only at withdrawal, KYC deadline up to 7 days with confiscation | 5 | - | KYC_TRAP |
| C3 | C | Terms allow voiding winnings over a third-party payment method, at the casino's discretion | 3 | - | THIRD_PARTY_PAYMENT |
| C4 | C | Max bet during a bonus without a software limit | 3 | - | - |
| C5 | C | Terms without a version date, or changed without a new date or after a documented win | 4 | - | TC_CHANGED |
| C6 | C | Proven account-closed or confiscated complaints in 24 months | 6 | 9 | ACCOUNTS_CLOSED |
| L1 | L | Licence problems: not confirmed by a second source, expired, revoked, issued under a master licence that no longer exists, or no licence at all; the worst case sets the deduction | 6 | - | - |
| L2 | L | The domain is tied to the licensee only by weaker evidence (link levels B, C, D): no register or regulator certificate page names the domain | 3 | - | - |
| L3 | L | No external dispute body named in the complaint procedure; a regulator the procedure names counts, an unnamed “independent body” or “designated service” does not | 3 | - | NO_ADR |
| L4 | L | Regulator sanctions in 24 months, read from the regulator's own sanctions list; without such a list the line is not checked | 3 | - | REGULATOR_SANCTION |
| T1 | T | Operator not disclosed, or no disclosed company number matches the register | 5 | - | OWNER_HIDDEN |
| T2 | T | Brand age 12 to 24 months | 3 | - | - |
| T3 | T | Group history: a sister brand in High Risk or Do Not Deposit, or a rebrand after complaints | 5 | - | GROUP_HISTORY |
| T4 | T | Sister sites not disclosed: the link was found through shared infrastructure only (analytics IDs and domain records, compared among the casinos on Scamzino) | 2 | - | OWNER_HIDDEN |
| T5 | T | Rules and practice for accepting players disagree; a clause that bars a country's players from the site or from all real-money play counts as a restriction wherever it stands in the terms; checked only when practice was observed for the country and for every province the terms name | 2 | - | MARKET_RULES_MISMATCH |
| R1 | R | Self-exclusion does not apply to the group, or did not work (proven complaint) | 2 | - | - |
| R2 | R | No limit tools | 1 | - | - |
- Line maxima can exceed a block cap (Transparency 17 against 15) and at crypto casinos the caps add up to 103: a block never takes more than its cap and the score never goes below 0. Weights were fixed on 10 Oct 2026
- The weights stay a hypothesis until the backtest, a test of the weights against real payout cases
- Score v0.1: the CGA register statuses Indefinite and Assessment in progress take 0 points off when the regulator's certificate page confirms the licence for the domain; the page prints the register's word and its date. The licence line takes points when the licence is not verified by two sources (3), is not linked to the domain (6), is expired, revoked or suspended (6), or when its term has passed its expiry date while the register still shows another status (1; the assessment window of an Assessment in progress licence is not a term). Before v0.1 the interim statuses took 1 point; the backtest decides whether this distinction stays
- Market norm: when a line takes its whole maximum off at 80% or more of the casinos we scored, its row carries the label “market norm” with the count, and the line is not used as a distinguishing point in the “What stands out” list of a dossier. The points stay as the weights set them. The share is recalculated on every build from the dossiers published at that time
- Withdrawal limits (P3): a limit that applies only under a condition counts at face value and the dossier prints the condition; a clause that reserves the right to limit withdrawals without a figure is not a limit and is quoted in the T&C audit; “the higher of” counts the guaranteed lower figure; EUR and GBP limits are compared at fixed v0 multipliers ($1.1 per EUR, $1.3 per GBP), not at a market rate
- Pending times are shown in the unit of the clause (hours, days or business days); where they are compared, 1 business day counts as 7/5 calendar days
Bands
Bands
| Band | Score | Visit button | Who publishes |
|---|---|---|---|
Clean Record | 85-100 | yes | automatic |
Minor Issues | 70-84 | only if the licence and market checks pass | automatic |
Caution | 50-69 | no | the editor, after two checks |
High Risk | 0-49 | no, and no other casinos suggested | the editor, after two checks, only after the backtest |
Do Not Deposit | outside the score | no, and no other casinos suggested | the editor, after two checks |
Not Enough Evidence | outside the score | no | automatic |
- Active Payout Alert switches the button off and does not change the score
Reason codes
Reason codes
| Code | Text on the site | Line |
|---|---|---|
| UNPAID_90D | Unpaid withdrawals in the last 90 days | P1 |
| UNPAID_24M | Unpaid withdrawals in the last 24 months | P2 |
| WITHDRAWAL_CAP | Withdrawal limit below $10,000 per month | P3 |
| WIN_LIMIT | Win limit or jackpot cap in T&C | P4 |
| VAGUE_CONFISCATION | Open-ended grounds to confiscate winnings | C1 |
| KYC_TRAP | KYC only at withdrawal, short deadline | C2 |
| THIRD_PARTY_PAYMENT | Terms allow voiding winnings over third-party payment methods | C3 |
| TC_CHANGED | Terms carry no version date | C5 |
| ACCOUNTS_CLOSED | Documented account closures with funds held | C6 |
| LICENCE_STATUS | Licence not active per registry | L1 |
| LICENCE_UNVERIFIED | Licence not confirmed by a second source | L1 |
| NO_ADR | No external dispute body named | L3 |
| REGULATOR_SANCTION | Sanctioned by regulator | L4 |
| OWNER_HIDDEN | Operator not disclosed | T1, T4 |
| GROUP_HISTORY | Sister casinos with payout problems | T3 |
| MARKET_RULES_MISMATCH | Terms and practice on players' countries disagree | T5 |
| FAKE_GAMES | Fake games | G1 |
| FALSE_LICENCE | Licence not found | G2 |
| CLONE | Clone of a known brand | G3 |
| PAY_TO_UNLOCK | Pay-to-unlock demands | G4 |
| SYSTEMATIC_NONPAYMENT | Systematic non-payment | G5 |
| TOO_NEW | Brand younger than 12 months | Not Enough Evidence |
| TERMS_NOT_AUDITED | Terms not audited yet | Not Enough Evidence |
| LOCAL_MARKET_ONLY | Not scored: licensed for regulated local markets only | Not Enough Evidence |
Sources and dates
Every status names its source and date, for example "Indefinite in the CGA register dated 20 Oct 2026" or "named in the Kahnawà:ke register (list as of 23 Oct 2026)"; we use only the register's own words.
- Each source has a shelf life. When it passes, the line is marked out of date and recalculated after a new check. A licence line older than 2 times its shelf life removes the Visit button.
- Some registers publish limited data, with no domain lists or licence numbers (CGA, Anjouan, Kahnawà:ke). A negative finding never rests on one of them alone.
- If a register and a regulator's certificate page disagree, we show both.
Two keys and right of reply
- We save snapshots before contacting an operator.
- A verdict of Caution or lower goes to the operator at the address in its terms or licence 2 business days before publication, after the snapshots are saved; above Caution, the letter goes on the day of publication.
- Two keys: the editor approves a verdict of Caution or lower, and a fresh check of every fact a few days later confirms it before it is published.
- When we write to an operator, the page shows "Operator response requested" with the date; the reply is published next to the case without edits. We hold back only personal data of third parties and content unlawful to publish, and say on the page where we did.
- Corrections are published as Correction entries.
Recalculation and versions
- A calculation is never edited: a recalculation is a new record.
- Moving a band down to Caution or lower goes through the editor.
Backtest
Not published yet
The backtest has not run yet, and its pre-registration record is not published yet. Backtest status: planned
Words we use
Glossary
| Word | Meaning |
|---|---|
| Verified | Two independent sources confirm the licence, and at least one of them names the casino's domain (for example the register and the regulator's certificate page) |
| Listed, named in the register | The register names the licence holder but publishes no status (Kahnawà:ke, Gibraltar); we do not call such a licence active |
| Indefinite | CGA register status of a licence granted without an end date |
| Assessment in progress | CGA register status of a provisional licence while the regulator reviews it |
| Confirmed by the regulator | A register or the regulator's certificate page names the domain (link level A) |
| Named by the casino only | The casino's own site or terms name the licensee or the group, and the register lists that licensee, but no register names the domain (link level B) |
| Indirect evidence | Shared infrastructure, an affiliate list or a similar trace links the domain (link levels C and D) |
| Not checked yet | No observation exists for the line; it takes no points off |